Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

Science

Welcome to the Science Department, a hub of exploration, discovery, and intellectual curiosity. Our department is dedicated to fostering a deep understanding of the natural world and the scientific principles that govern it.  Our curriculum goes beyond traditional teaching methods by incorporating ADI, a dynamic framework that places critical thinking, collaborative exploration, and evidence-based reasoning at the heart of scientific learning.

*** New Course!!!!

We are excited to introduce a new subject to our curriculum for the 2023-24 term: Genetics. This course offers a comprehensive exploration of genetic principles while delving into the world of biotechnological advancements, where scientific discovery meets real-world applications. You'll explore the intricacies of DNA, the blueprint of life, and uncover the mysteries behind the diversity and unity of all living organisms. 

 

For graduation, students shall earn at least four (4) units of credit in laboratory based science courses consisting of one (1) unit of a Physical Science or Physics, one (1) unit of Biology, one (1) unit of either Chemistry, Earth Science, Environmental Science or an AP course and one (1) additional science unit. The fourth science unit may be used to meet both the science and elective requirements.

Teacher                                                   Courses Taught Email Address
Emily Allen Physical Science Emily.Allen@cherokeek12.net
Robin Barnhorn Environmental Science, Biology Robin.Barnhorn@cherokeek12.net
Lisa Brooks Environmental Science Lisa.Brooks@cherokeek12.net
Melissa Bentley Biology melissa.bentley@cherokeek12.net
Charlie Buck AP Physics 1, Physics Charlie.Buck@cherokeek12.net
Melissa Clarke Zoology, Forensic Science melissa.clarke@cherokeek12.net
Chris Curtiss Biology Chris.Curtiss@cherokeek12.net
Kyle Davis Chemistry, Physical Science kyle.davis@cherokeek12.net
Maxine Ezell Astronomy Maxine.Ezell@cherokeek12.net
Morgan Flint Biology, Environmental Science Morgan.Flint@cherokeek12.net
Jodi Hall Honors Human Anatomy, Human Anatomy, Chemistry  jodi.hall@cherokeek12.net
Korina Hoopes Physical Science, Environmental Science Korina.Hoopes@cherokeek12.net
Jamie Gray Physical Science, Biology Jamie.Gray@cherokeek12.net
Tracie Johnson Honors Chemistry, Chemistry Tracie.Johnson@cherokeek12.net
Nicole Mastriforte Biology, Astronomy Nicole.Mastriforte@cherokeek12.net
Cole Marsh Physical Science Cole.Marsh@cherokeek12.net
Angela Mentzel Environmental Science Angela.Mentzel@cherokeek12.net
Connie Nelson Environmental Science, Biology Connie.Nelson@cherokeek12.net

Lynette Okenica

Environmental Science, Astronomy Lynette.Okenica@cherokeek12.net
Thomas Latimer Environmental Science Thomas.Latimer@cherokeek12.net
Jill O'Leary Environmental Science, Physical Science Jill.Oleary@cherokeek12.net
Bridget Owensby Biology, Astronomy Bridget.Owensby@cherokeek12.net
Lori Pangburn *Department Head AP Biology, Honors Biology, Genetics lori.pangburn@cherokeek12.net
Kellie Phillips Astronomy Kellie.Phillips@cherokeek12.net
Wesley Queen Honors Physics, AP Physics C, Mechanics, AP Physics C wesley.queen@cherokeek12.net
Mark Segall Forensic Science,  AP Chemistry, Honors Chemistry mark.segall@cherokeek12.net
Rachel Sheldon Environmental Science, AP Environmental Science Rachel.Sheldon@cherokeek12.net
Kayla Staton Biology kayla.staton@cherokeek12.net
Alicia Tamayo Biology Alicia.Tamayo@cherokeek12.net
Bethany Thomas Physical Science bethany.thomas@cherokeek12.net
Sarah Thornley Astronomy Sarah.Thornley@cherokeek12.net
Candace Ward Environmental Science Candace.Ward@cherokeek12.net
Brandt Webster Chemistry, Physics Brandt.Webster@cherokeek12.net
Riley Wildeman Biology, Environmental Science Riley.Wildeman@cherokeek12.net
Karel Yokley Biology Karel.Yokley@cherokeek12.net